About Johanna Pichlmair

Johanna Pichlmair is an Austrian violinist and winner of numerous international competitions.

„...Johanna Pichlmair is an exceptionally gifted young violinist with an impressive technique, a warm and expressive sound and a deep artistry. Sche is equally at home as solist with orchestra, in recital or in chamber music. She is a young artist to watch for.”

(Prof. Nora Chastain)

„...Johanna Pichlmair immediately stood out with a personally engraved, highly stylish interpretation, (...) with genuine personality.”

(Bachtrack, 20.06.2019)

„...Johanna has excellent facility, very imaginative, intelligent music making, very strong potential. She is a wonderful violinist and extraordinarily talented, has first class technique, sound, intonation...”

(Prof. Lewis Kaplan)

Upcoming concerts

Tues, Aug 4th 2020, 08:00 pm - "Drama and Poetry",
Berlin, Konzerthaus Great Hall
With Johanna Pichlmair (violin) and Cheng Zhang (piano)
C. Schumann: 3 Romances op. 22
LIVE on Deutschlandradio Kultur - click here

So., 27.September 2020, 11:00 Uhr - "Matinee Konzert" ,
Überlingen, Kursaal
With Johanna Pichlmair (violin) and Ryo Yamanishi (piano)
L. van Beethoven: Sonata A Major op. 12 No. 2
C. Schumann: 3 Romances op. 22
C. Saint-Saëns :Havanaise op. 83
J. Brahms: Sonata G Major op. 78.
M. Ravel: Tzigane

"Online Concert of the Ysaye Festival",
Click here to stream
With Johanna Pichlmair (violin)
E. Ysaye: Sonata for Solo Violin op. 27 No. 2 "Obsession"

"Online Concert of the Ysaye Festival",
Click here to stream
With Johanna Pichlmair (violin) and Yumino Weber (cello)
M. Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello


Great news, a dream has come true:
Since March 2020, Johanna Pichlmair has been a member of the Berliner Philharmoniker’s first violin section!
For further information click here

In 2019, Johanna Pichlmair won the Second Prize and two Special Prizes at the International Violin Competiton in Montreal.
A report on the competition can be found in this article from Bachtrack (hosted on this website; or as direct download).